The Second EU Referendum (2016)

Yes, the UK should have a second referendum on the EU. But only after a proper, informative campaign that is based on facts and reports rather than race.

[I doubt that’s going to happen. Despite the petition exceeding the required numbers needed.]

Here’s some math:

60% vote of 75% turnout = 0.6 x 0.75 = 0.45

i.e. 45% of people is not a simple majority and so another vote should be taken to ensure that the result reflects the opinions and needs of a simple majority of the country.

SO…

Based on the EU referendum:-

51.9% voted Leave of 72.2% turnout = 0.519 x 0.722 = 0.374718

i.e. 37.5% of people have voted one way and the government have decided to use that vote as is.

…But not trigger Article 50 or something deliberately vague. The jury’s out on that one.

The UK government’s handling of the vote isn’t democratic either way you slice it.

Second campaign, second vote. Simple majority. Decisive action based on a mandate.

Is that really too much to ask?

When you read what I think about the referendum and why I voted the way I did, you’ll know my answer to that. [Smirk]

About factsarecrucial

I like to write what I think about things that interest me. I'm full of opinions and questions so you might just enjoy and appreciate what I have to say.
This entry was posted in "Power Centres", Activism, Civil Liberties, Culture of Activism in Media, Gender Politics, Geo Politics, Minority Hatred, Modern Day Distractions, Politics UK. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment